Are you looking for information about divorce investigations? When it comes to divorce law in the state of Texas, there are some basic requirements. First, one of the married persons must have lived in the country for at least six months. In addition to having been in the county, they file in for at least 90 days. Lastly, a final divorce decree goes into effect after a 60-day waiting period.
Texas allows for no-fault and fault grounds for divorce. In a no-fault divorce, either spouse can file to dissolve the marriage even when the other spouse does not want a divorce. The settings for a fault divorce in Texas are; Adultery, cruel treatment, abandonment, long-term felony incarceration, and confinement to a mental hospital. Consequently, if there is proof, the court may consider that. Therefore, evidence and independent facts must prove the alleged fault ground.
Texas Divorce Law Legal Obligation
Spousal maintenance in Texas is a legal obligation of financial support from one spouse to another. Before or after a divorce has been granted. Because to be eligible for spousal maintenance, the spouse seeking financial aid must prove a lack of sufficient property, assets, or resources to provide for their minimum reasonable needs.
The spouse seeking support must prove one of the following circumstances:
- Convicted of a family violence crime within two years of the divorce petition filing.
- The spouse seeking divorce cannot earn income because of an incapacitating physical or mental disability.
- The person been married for over ten years. Or, they lack the resources to earn a sufficient income.
- The husband or wife seeking divorce is the primary caregiver of a child who requires substantial care due to a physical or mental disability.